2012 Class on Becoming Part of Beaver Nation

During the early signing period we received National Letters of Intent from three individuals, Tyler Carlson, Brett Johnson, and Chris Tedesco, who are set to join the program in September 2012.  The  official announcement from our school came via osubeavers.com a couple of weeks ago.  Each of them are going to be great fits for our program and we can’t wait to get them on campus next September.  We thought we would ask them to tell us a little more about themselves and what brought them to Oregon State.

Tyler Carlson  – Clarkston, WA

1) When did you know you wanted to be a part of Beaver Nation?

When I realized how much both Jon and Tim care about me and want to help me succeed in any way that I want.

2) During a recent visit to campus for an official visit what about the team made you most excited to arrive on campus next September and be part of this program?

The team made me feel like I was already a part of it and welcomed me with open arms.  They also talked about how much fun it is to work hard everyday with each other to get better.

3)  What are you looking forward to over the next four years?

Making memories that will last a lifetime and working hard to become successful.

4)  Beside golf, what do you like to do to occupy your time?

I love hanging out with family and friends, playing games, basketball, football, or just any sport.  In the summer time we go on the river a lot in our boat.

5)  Your greatest golfing memory?

Playing in the 2010 US Junior Amateur in Michigan.

Brett Johnson – Ridgefield, WA

1) When did you know you wanted to be a part of Beaver Nation?

When the coaching staff still believed in me even after playing a bad tournament.  I knew that support would be necessary when I arrived on campus.

2) During a recent visit to campus for an official visit what about the team made you most excited to arrive on campus next September and be part of this program?

The team included me in everything.  Made me feel like I’d been friends with them for more than just a few hours.

3)  What are you looking forward to over the next four years?

Becoming the best I can be in the classroom and on the golf course.  Also, I’m excited to meet new people.

4)  Beside golf, what do you like to do to occupy your time?

I spend most of the time studying…but if I’m not studying I’m usually with friends.

5)  Your greatest golfing memory?

Shooting a final round 65 in a tournament last winter to come from four shots behind and win.

Chris Tedesco – Gig Harbor, WA

1) When did you know you wanted to be a part of Beaver Nation?

Driving into Corvallis for my first visit I felt at home and saw myself going there.

2) During a recent visit to campus for an official visit what about the team made you most excited to arrive on campus next September and be part of this program?

The unity of the team was really strong.  Similar to my high school team where all the guys get along and have the ability to have fun together.

3)  What are you looking forward to over the next four years?

I’m looking forward to receiving a great education while playing golf at the highest level.

4)  Beside golf, what do you like to do to occupy your time?

Other than golf I like to watch movies, hang out with girls, and work on my car.

5)  Your greatest golfing memory?

Playing the US Junior Amateur at Gold Mountain this past summer.


Leave a Reply

