FEATURE FRIDAY- Getting to know Casey King

Year: Junior
Major: Radiation Health Physics
Hometown: Blue River, OR

Favorite Golf Memory: It’s hard to pick out a specific memory as my favorite. One of my favorites was playing night golf on high school graduation night. Another was making a 20 foot putt of the green on #18 to win the Ray King Memorial Scramble. Also right up there near the top would have to be when I was golfing by myself and made a hole-in-one. Right after I saw the ball roll in, I sprinted directly to the pro-shop to tell my dad.

How Did You Get Into Golf: It was inevitable for me to become a golfer from the start. My dad was the Head Golf Professional at Longview CC and then later at Tokatee Golf Club in Blue River. I would sometimes come to work with him and often rode along in the cart with him when he played. At first, my favorite part of the golf course was catching the local lizards. I don’t mean to boast, but I’m an extremely talented lizard hunter. Eventually, I grew out of my lizard hunting stage and took advantage of the beautiful golf course in my back yard.

Strength of Game: My greatest strength is probably my creativity and shot making ability. My favorite thing about golf is that there is an infinite amount of ways to get the ball into the hole.

Weakness of Game: Greatest weakness is probably taking unnecessary risks by trying to hit crafty shots instead of taking the safer or more conventional path.

Favorite Thing About OSU Golf: My favorite thing about OSU golf is our team atmosphere. We have each other’s back like you wouldn’t believe. There is a bond on our team that goes deeply beyond the superficial that you wouldn’t find on most teams.

Favorite Class at OSU: My favorite class was Writing 121 because I was able to use my advanced writing abilities which resulted in me receiving an excellent grade.

What’s in the Bag?
Driver: Ping i15
3 Wood: Ping i15
Hybrid: Ping i15
Irons: NIKE VR Split Cavity (3-pw)
Wedges: NIKE VR 52*, 56*, 60*
Putter: Scotty Cameron Studio Select Newport
Ball: NIKE One * Tour D


Leave a Reply

