FEATURE FRIDAY- Getting to know Travis Milleman

Year: RS Freshman
Major: Engineering
Hometown: McMinville, OR

Favorite Golf Memory: “Winning the walk-on qualifier this year to make it on to the Oregon State Golf Team.”

How Did You Get Into Golf: “I first started playing golf my freshman year of high school because I was injured and couldn’t compete in track. So instead of sitting out for the season and not doing anything, I decided to try out golf with the intention of going back to track when I was healthy. Although I liked golf so much that when I finally became healthy, I didn’t want to go back to track.”

Strength of Game: “My ball-striking. Even though I’m not the longest hitter out there, when I am playing well I hardly ever miss the fairway or green.”

Weakness of Game: “Putting. It is something I have been working on a lot lately.”

Favorite Thing About OSU Golf: “My favorite part about golfing here at Oregon State is the competition. Everyday at practice there is something to play for, whether it’s reduced workouts, more workouts, or coyote cup points. It’s also pretty cool to be able to represent Oregon State.”

Favorite Class at OSU:  “My favorite class that I have taken so far at Oregon State is called SolidWorks. It’s an engineering design course using the software SolidWorks. We learned how to make 3 dimensional objects, assemblies, and variety of other different things on the computer.”

What’s in the Bag?
Driver: TaylorMade R9
3 Wood: Ping G2 15*
5 Wood: Ping G2 18*
Irons: Titleist AP2 (3-pw)
Wedges: NIKE VR 54* & 60*
Putter: Scotty Cameron Fastback
Ball: NIKE One * Tour D


Leave a Reply

