FEATURE FRIDAY- Getting to know Jeff Petroff

Year: Redshirt Sophomore
Major: Business
Hometown: Portland, OR

Favorite Golf Memory: “My favorite golf memory would have to be a trip I made to Scotland with my dad over the summer when I was 14. We played a lot of the major historic links of Scotland, and got to watch the second round play at the British Open. I will never forget how tough the courses were, thirty mile per hour winds and the worst hay fever I have ever had. It was still some of the most fun I have ever had on the golf course; the links style courses have always been my favorite.”

How Did You Get Into Golf: “I grew up playing golf at our home club with my dad when I was little. I didn’t like the game at first because of how long it takes to play 18 holes, but the feeling of a pure shot kept me coming back. I also wanted to get good enough to beat my dad badly, and since my dad is pretty crafty with the putter, by the time I could beat him I was hooked on golf.”

Strength of Game: “My driver. I like to hit it straight.”

Weakness of Game: “My short game. I always think you can improve with creativeness around the greens… and my grabbing of the ball from the hole.”

Favorite Thing About OSU Golf: “My favorite part of OSU golf would have to be our team camaraderie. We have a really good team aspect here at OSU with the guys on our team and coaches that I don’t think can be matched at any other school in the nation.”

Favorite Class at OSU: “Last year I took a class to fulfill a core requirement called wine and the western world. I signed up for it thinking that I just needed to get this requirement out of the way, but it was actually really interesting. I learned everything about all different types of wines and how they are made. It was a lot more enjoyable than the statistics class that I had that term…”

What’s in the Bag?
Driver: Titleist 909 D3 9.5*
3 Wood: Titleist 906F 15*
Irons: Titleist ZM Forged (3-pw)
Wedges: Titleist Vokey 52*, 56*, 60*
Putter: Scotty Cameron Studio Select Fastback 1.5
Ball: NIKE One * Tour D


Leave a Reply

