FEATURE FRIDAY- Getting to know Nick Sherwood

Year: Sophomore
Major: Business
Hometown: Albany, OR

Favorite Golf Memory: “As a young boy merely 14 years of age playing golf in Las Vegas with my dad on vacation, I stepped up onto the par 3, 12th, with the sun beating down on my neck enjoying the wonderful weather as I waited for the green to clear.  While waiting for the group ahead to clear the green two old guys in the group behind us came rolling up in their cart ranting and raving about how I was too young to play from the back tee box and was holding play up.  My dad told them to just give it a rest he knows what he is doing. It was a long par three playing 204 yards to a back pin, I pull out my “trusty” 2 iron hybrid.  The two old guys at this point were chuckling saying I’m just a boy and won’t even be able to reach the green from 204 yards.  I ignored their ridiculous remarks and set up to hit my shot.  I made great contact and the ball flew off the club face with authority, my dad, the two old men and I where watching with eager eyes as my ball landed a few feet from the cup.  As I watched the ball roll into the cup I remember standing on the tee box full of excitement and satisfaction of proving to myself that there are no limits to what I can do in this game.”

Strength of Game: “Driving accuracy/ Wedge Play.”

Weakness of Game: “My putter… I can always be a better putter.”

Favorite Thing About OSU Golf: “My life passion and dreams have always been about golf.  I am living my dreams here at Oregon State in the toughest golf conference around, the PAC-10.  I would have to say my favorite part about OSU golf is the whole package.  Traveling all year round to find the sun and and play competitive golf on some of the finest golf courses around with a brotherhood of team mates who I know have my back.  That would be my favorite aspect of OSU golf.”

Favorite Class at OSU: “My favorite class in my short year and a half here at OSU would have to be HHS 231 Lifelong fitness and health.  I was interested in learning about how the body works and how exercise is so important for your all around health.  I learned lots of interesting facts on how to be smart with how much and what type of foods you eat.”

What’s in the Bag?
Driver: TaylorMade Burner Super Fast 9.5*
3 Wood: Callaway Diablo 13*
Hybrid: Adams 19*
Irons: NIKE VR Split Cavity (4-PW)
Wedges: Titleist Vokey 52*, 56*, 60*
Putter: Scotty Cameron Studio Select Laguna 2
 


Leave a Reply

