A Message From Coach Reehoorn

Hello, World!  (In Nike land…I couldn’t resist the Tiger reference) Thanks so much for checking out the first post to the official Oregon State Beavers Golf blog.  The goal of this blog is to provide our fans the opportunity to gain a little more insight into Beaver Golf than what might be found on our official OSU Beavers Athletic website.  Throughout the season we will be posting photos, videos and other interesting items from road trips and practice.  You might also run into the occasional update on the program from myself and our assistant coach, Tim Sundseth.  Today’s post will probably be one of the longest of the year in terms of writing.

It is amazing to think it has already been one month since I was named golf coach at Oregon State University.  As my wife, Meghan, and I get more and more acclimated to Oregon State University and Corvallis with each day we are understanding why everyone we ran into was telling us how much we would love this place.  The people in Corvallis and the OSU Athletic Department have been great and made us feel right at home as quickly as one can imagine.

As I prepare for my first season at Oregon State I am thankful we are on the quarter system.  I can’t imagine already having the guys in school and going full speed ahead having only been on campus for about three weeks.  Tim and I are going full speed ahead in every direction from recruiting to organizing our team retreat to Bend.  At the same time I’ve been working to try and develop as good of relationship with each of the guys as possible before they even report for practice next Friday, September 10.  I’ve been on the road a couple of times to watch the guys play in some amateur events and last week, we made the drive North to the US Amateur to watch Alex Moore.  I’m excited to work with each of them and build on their success from last season.

With the team’s 16th place finish at the NCAA Championships last season I get the feeling from each of them they are hungry to make this season even better and make sure they are back at the NCAA Championships.  The opportunity I have to be the golf coach at Oregon State is something I am very grateful for and will work each day to make the most of  this opportunity.  I’m confident Oregon State can become and already is a special place for a college golf program to compete at the highest level in the best golf conference in the country, the Pacific-10.  I’m looking forward to the challenge and being part of Beaver Nation for a long time to come.  Below is an interview I completed for our website to give you a little better idea about me.

Thanks and Go Beavs!  Jon Reehoorn


Leave a Reply

